She was CONSTANT

A wise friend, shared with me today that during the holiday season being happy and grieving CAN coexist with each other.

I was telling her I cherished my time with my best friends this weekend as they picked me back up. Also, Brad and I had the opportunity to watch Cody mail his Santa letter. (we tried to see Santa, but that just didn’t happen this year) and receiving a message of accomplishment from our older son, who once again kicked butt this semester on his grades! Which might I add he will be walking the stage in May! How are we here?!?!

Through these bits of joyful occasions, there is also a tremendous amount of sadness sandwiched in between losing my Godmother that I miss and loved so much.

My Godmother is a sacred gift. She was a little bit friend and a little bit parent. No matter what came my way, she was always there to support or celebrate with me.

She held my hand and heart my entire life and was literally cheering me on with a recent success with my job days grom her passing.

What made her so special was she never popped in for just our life milestones like occasional birthdays or baby showers but she was there for all the details in the inbetween of our lifes journey.

She was constant.

From the moment I was born to baptized all the way through Brad and I raising our own children.

She wasn’t just constant for me, but she was for my entire family and extended family.

She was constant for my mom, whose friendship started in 1st grade and has been her bestie of 70 years. A friend reminded me this weekend how rare that really is.

She was more than just a Godmother to me more of a second mother to me. She was my mom’s ying to her yang.

There was nothing she wouldn’t do for me or the family. From literally flying me at four years old to Montana to see my Dad’s family to planning my dream come true wedding at Coe Ranch.

I’m so thankdul and forever grateful to have this amazing human in my life. She taught me all the things I know my Mom would want me to learn, as well as the things she may wanted me not to know! (This makes me think of the time that Honore and I drove back from Cloudcroft to meet Mom and Mary for lunch!) Godmothers are the protectors of souls.

I know she will always be there for me. It just might look different now, and I might hear her wisdom through a Highwayman song, Patsy Cline, through our pets, reminders of her around my home, what I am cooking or visiting Ruidoso, but I know she will always be there forever and ever. Godmothers are a blessing from heaven sent to love an angel on earth.

I will miss her so much.

𝘍𝘰𝘳 𝘴𝘰𝘮𝘦 𝘋𝘦𝘤𝘦𝘮𝘣𝘦𝘳 𝘩𝘰𝘭𝘪𝘥𝘢𝘺𝘴 𝘣𝘳𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘦𝘢𝘤𝘦, 𝘩𝘰𝘱𝘦 & 𝘩𝘦𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘨, & 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘰𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘪𝘵’𝘴 𝘮𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘢𝘣𝘰𝘶𝘵 ‘𝘨𝘦𝘵𝘵𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘳𝘶.’

#holidayhealing #holidaygrief #Christmas #loss #peace #hope #healing #Godmothers

Miss Carrollton Country Fair

Published by mamalamaneustupa

Bio My name is Shelley Neustupa. I am a mother of two cool boys and a wife of 22 years to my high school sweetheart. My oldest son attends the University of Oklahoma. Boomer! My youngest is in 2nd grade and was diagnosed with Autism and Mixed Receptive Expressive Disorder at age 2. Since his diagnosis, I promised him I would advocate and educate as hard as he works each day in therapy. I began writing and have been able to touch many parents that may be new to this journey providing them with actual experiences (not candy coated), support and resources through my entries. Writing is my therapy and my hope one day that my nonverbal son will be able to take these diaries and speak about his own journey and how autism relates to his own experiences. Who knows he and his older brother may become National Speaker’s one day? Come along on our journey to better understand our lives through the eyes of a boy with autism, his Skilled Companion dog Jude, his big brother (and best friend) and mom and dad. My raw vulnerability captures the everyday moments of our journey and will bring even more awareness. A week does not go by where we do not learn something new about ourselves and I want to share these chapters with you. My Sons Undeniable Strengths… Extremely smart and figures out things quickly. Has a memory that allows him to remember more things than I could ever hope for. Persuasive by his personality and sheepish looks. Overabundance of stamina and strength. Loves the outdoors. Enjoys life and always has fun with an unforgettable smile. You can find us here: Writer: Autism Through His Eyes Facebook Instagram YouTube Pinterest Canine Companions for Independence News Interview Cody and Skilled Companion Jude - Our Story

Leave a comment